Now that auto-alphabetizing has been eliminated we want to make use of the Task Lists again.
I decided to clean up the Master Task list. Instead of just eliminating the replicated tasks I figured I wouldeliminate all Task Itemsand start over but I keep encountering an error that they are in-use when I attempt to delete any of them. I made sure to remove them first from the Task Groups and then I proceeded to make them all inactive. I have attached a screenshot of the error - Screenshot 1.
Next I tried deleting all of the empty Task Groups but receive a similar error - Screenshot 2.
To the best of my knowledge none of the Task Groups were ever used in any Workorder. It is possible a group may have been used but I know for sure not all of them were.
Please advise what I should do next
<SPAN id=_ctl1_ctlTopic_ctlPanelBar_ctlTopicsRepeater__ctl2_lblFullMessage>Hi Bob
If a Task was entered into a workorder item in the sub-screen Tasks, then the task can not be deleted from the Tasks entry grid.
But there is something funky occurringwith Tasks and Task Groups - as it looks like the list of tasks within the Task Group entry screen still display for selection even though deleted from the Tasks entry grid or set to inactive in the Tasks entry grid. This will have to be looked into by development.
I would suggest at this time that you rename the tasks in the Tasks entry grid to what you want, and then they will show with these new names in the Tasks selection side in the Task entry screen so they can be selected.
Hi again Bob
Update on Task Groups and inactive tasks as have discussed with development and identified the following:
- At present an inactive task does show first as the internal IDwhen added via Task Group to a workorder, then when you exit the workroder and open it backup the task shows as grayed out indicating it is inactive.
What we are going to do isa task in the Task grid that is set to inactive will only mean that the inactive task will not show on a workorder when newly adding the Task Group where this inactive task is selected.This will be added in a maintenance update shortly.
An inactive task will still be selectable in a Task Group entry screen - it just won’t show on a workorder if you add the Task Group to the workorder.
Previous workorders would continue to display the inactive task because the Task Group was added to the workorder before the task was set to inactive.
Only if a task is deleted does the task no longer show as selectable (left grid within the Task Group entry screen)
A task can not be deleted if it is presently selected in a Task Group entry screen right grid (the “selected” grid) - you will receive the popup message indicating that the object is presently linked as it does right now in 188.8.131.52
I was getting ready to rename every task in the Master Task List as you recommended.
Before I started I thought maybe if I removed the “Task Groups” the tasks had been added to that I would be able to delete the tasks and start from scratch. No go. I then made another discovery. I am also unable to delete the empty “Task Groups.” I receive the same error I received when trying to delete the individual tasks.
I know, from experience, I will not be able to delete any tasks or task groups that were added to Workorders but… none of them were ever used in any workorder.
The way I verified this was by using the search utility to search for the task descriptions. The search utility finds and lists every task and the source for every one of them is “Task", no workorders.
In addition to renaming every task in the Master Task List is “renaming” my only option for the Task Groups too?
Yes at this time - rename the existing Task Groups
I have renamed all the tasks (did not need to rename the Task Groups)then Iadded the individual tasks to their respective groups.
When I populate a Workorder with aTask Group some tasks display the internal ID number in the task description. Once I save and reopen the Workorder the task descriptions are correct.
It happens regardless of whichTask Groups I choose.
I’ve attached a screenshot showing this anomaly. Is it something I need to beconcerned with?
If the internal ID displays instead of the individual task name when you first add in the Task Group to the workorder, that would mean that that individual task is set to Inactive.
When you reopen the workorder, you will see that those tasks text font are actually grayed
We will be editing the Task Groups feature for a next maintenance release - for example, if a task is itself set to Inactive, it won’t be copied to the workorder item if still part of a Task Group