Filter clients by custom fields

I’ve been using Ayanova for 4 years and have just recently started to get into the nitty gritty cool features and such. I’ve been using custom fields to notate when a customer first came into our shop and how they heard about us. I’d like to be able to filter the client list by custom fields, like I can with the Service Workorders.

After messing with this for a bit I thought I’d add a little…

I just created a report which allows me to see the customer name and when their first service was (a custom field I created and then went back and filled in for all my clients). The report was okay, but limited by the fact that it just gave me a list of clients with their first service dates… I couldn’t sort it or total individual months or anything. I was able to export the list to a csv file and import it into excel, where I could sort and do what I needed to, but it was 2 hours worth of work that could have been avoided if I could filter the clients in Ayanova by custom field. I see custom fields under Service, Quotes and Preventative Maintenance, Parts and Units, but not under Clients. Maybe I’ve got a setting wrong?

Hello

Just wanted to quickly post here again about custom fields and filtering:

Each custom field is defined as a type of field that can accept near infinite amounts of data because we have no idea what the user will be using them for.

Each custom field could be a date field, could be a true/false field, could be a text field, could be a currency field, etc etc.

Whereas for filtering, the field has to be specifically identified as a specific type so that it can be filtered.

For example, the column Bank Service in the Clients grid can be filterd because it has specifically internally been identified as a true/false column, and the filtering tool can filter on this column because it knows to filter by this type.